CSCI202: Computer Programming II

Updated 2015.12.11

Syllabus

Final test is Tuesday, 5/12 /2015 from noon until 2:20.           Last day to withdraw: 4/10/2015.

Day #1. Thursday, 1/22/2015: Review

·        Review.

·        Discuss new assignment.

·        Lots of content. Download.

Program #1 due Thu 2/03/2015 at noon.

·        Two-player asteroids. You may work with a partner on this assignment. Hand in a zipped copy of your project in the drop box.

Day #2. Tuesday, 1/27/2015: Procedures/Methods, Parameters/Arguments

·        Procedures and parameters. Notes

·        Code for setting the viewport

Day #3. Thursday, 1/29/2015: Asteroids

·        Methods, parameters

·        Scaling a sprite

·        Variations of the Draw method?

·        Code for a SpriteStruct

Day #4. Tuesday, 2/03/2015: Sprite Sheets

·        Sprite sheet animation: Notes

·        See the "Lots of Content" files from Day #1 for spritesheets.

Program #2 due ??? at noon.

·        Space Invaders. Image files. You may work with a partner on this assignment. Hand in a zipped copy of your project in the drop box.

·        Working version

Day #5. Thursday, 2/05/2015:

·        Space Invaders program discussion

·        Part 1 of the Space Invaders program is due Tuesday, 2/18/2015

Day #6. Tuesday, 2/10/2015: Space Invaders

Day #7. Thursday, 2/12/2015: Lists

·        Free looping sound files. They are relatively small and can be used for background sound.

·        Discussion: shooting invader bullets.

Day #8. Tuesday, 2/17/2015: Debugging, Files

·        Debugging

·        More Debugging

·        Files. Notes

Day #9. Thursday, 2/19/2015: Files, Functions

·        Functions.

Day #10. Tuesday, 2/24/2015: 2-dimensional Arrays

·        2D Arrays

Day #11. Thursday, 2/26/2015. 2D arrays, functions, files, string functions

·        2D arrays, functions, files, string functions

Day #12. Tuesday, 3/03/2015

·        Project

·        Test 1 is Thursday, March 6.

·        Practice test, runner image, fighter image

·        Practice test solution

Day #13. Thursday, 3/05/2015: 2D arrays, files, functions

·        Life program.

·        2D Arrays review. Notes.

·        Functions review. Notes.

Day #14. Tuesday, 3/10/2015: Nested Loops

·        Two-dimensional array algorithms involve nested loops. Today we will look at problems whose solution requires nested loops. Notes.

Homework #3. Due Tuesday, 3/25/2015

·        Life. How it should work: video. Life data files. This assignment must be completed individually. No partners.

Day #15. Thursday, 3/12/2015: More functions

·        Finish nested loops: triangles, pyramid. Notes from previous class.

·        Practice writing functions.

Day #16. Tuesday, 3/17/2015: Mouse input, functions

·        Mouse input. Notes

·        Converting mouse coordinates into array coordinates.

·        More functions:

·        Pay(hours, rate)

·        Even(n)

·        GradePoints(letterGrade)

·        LetterGrade(score)

·        FullName(firstName, lastName)

Day #17. Thursday, 3/19/2015: Scrolling backgrounds

·        Finish functions from last time

·        Create a scrolling background

Day #18. Tuesday, 3/24/2015: Input Boxes

·        Input boxes, files. Notes

Mini-Homework due Thursday, 4/03/2015

·        Get the scrolling program to work in both directions.

Homework due Tuesday, 4/08/2015

·        Tic-Tac-Toe.

 

 

Day #19. Tuesday, 4/08/2015: Sorting the Top Ten list

·        News: Windows XP

·        History: IBM 360

·        Reading a file, sorting it, writing it back out again. Notes. More notes.

·        Adding a name to the Top Ten list.

Day #20. Thursday, 4/10/2015: Objects

·        Classes and objects. Notes.

Homework due Tuesday, 4/15/2015

·        Space Invaders with Top Ten scores.

Day #21. Tuesday, 4/15/2015: Objects

·        More classes and objects.

·        Practice Test. Template. Solution.

·        Video solutions: problem 1, problem 2, problem 3, problem 4, problem 5

Day #22. Thursday, 4/17/2015: Test #2

Day #23. Tuesday, 4/22/2015: More objects

·        A Fraction class. Notes.

Day #24. Thursday, 4/24/2015

·        An asteroid sprite class. File.

·        Frogger.

Homework due Thursday, 5/08/2015 at noon

·        Frogger. Frogger content files.

Day #25. Tuesday, 4/29/2015

·        More classes and objects: A Fraction class continued. Notes. Shell program.

Day #26. Thursday, 5/01/2015

·        FroggerSprite: the switch statement

·        FroggerList: how to use the methods in your main program

·        A Fraction class: throwing exceptions, catching exceptions. Notes.

Day #27. Tuesday, 5/06/2015

·        The FroggerSprite Position property

·        Another class example: Particle and ParticleEngine. Notes. Particle Images.

Homework due Thursday, 5/08/2015 at noon     

·        Frogger. Frogger content files.

Day #28. Thursday, 5/08/2015

he value of objects:

What else can you do with XNA? Code samples:

·        Platformer

·        Blackjack

·        3D Space Wars

Practice test. Problem 1, problem 2, problem 3, problem 4

 

Earlier classes are below…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 24.

Day 25.

Day 26.

Tetris, Part 2, Due Thursday, 5/02/2013

Tetris, PART 1. Due Tuesday, 4/30/2013

Day 27.

Day 28.

Day 29.

 

Day 24. Tuesday, 4/24/2012

Final Test