CSCI202: Computer Programming II

Updated 2014.04.22

Syllabus

Final test is Friday, 5/16/2014 from noon until 2:20

Day #23. Tuesday, 4/22/2014: More objects

·         A Fraction class. Notes.

 

Earlier classes are below…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day #22. Thursday, 4/17/2014: Test #2

Day #21. Tuesday, 4/15/2014: Objects

·         More classes and objects.

·         Practice Test. Template. Solution.

·         Video solutions: problem 1, problem 2, problem 3, problem 4, problem 5

Day #20. Thursday, 4/10/2014: Objects

·         Classes and objects. Notes.

Homework due Tuesday, 4/15/2014

·         Space Invaders with Top Ten scores.

Day #19. Tuesday, 4/08/2014: Sorting the Top Ten list

·         News: Windows XP

·         History: IBM 360

·         Reading a file, sorting it, writing it back out again. Notes. More notes.

·         Adding a name to the Top Ten list.

Day #18. Thursday, 4/03/2014: Input Boxes

·         Input boxes, files. Notes

Mini-Homework due Thursday, 4/03/2014

·         Get the scrolling program to work in both directions.

Homework due Tuesday, 4/08/2014

·         Tic-Tac-Toe.

Day #17. Tuesday, 4/01/2014: Scrolling backgrounds

·         Finish functions from last time

·         Create a scrolling background

Day #16. Thursday, 3/27/2014: Mouse input, functions

·         Mouse input. Notes

·         Converting mouse coordinates into array coordinates.

·         More functions:

·         Pay(hours, rate)

·         Even(n)

·         GradePoints(letterGrade)

·         LetterGrade(score)

·         FullName(firstName, lastName)

Day #15. Tuesday, 3/25/2014: More functions

·         Finish nested loops: triangles, pyramid. Notes from previous class.

·         Practice writing functions.

Day #14. Thursday, 3/20/2014: Nested Loops

·         Two-dimensional array algorithms involve nested loops. Today we will look at problems whose solution requires nested loops. Notes.

Homework #3. Due Tuesday, 3/25/2014

·         Life. How it should work: video. Life data files. This assignment must be completed individually. No partners.

Day #13. Tuesday, 3/18/2014: 2D arrays, files, functions

·         Life program.

·         2D Arrays review. Notes.

·         Functions review. Notes.

Day #12. Thursday, 3/06/2014

·         Project

·         Test 1 is Thursday, March 6.

·         Practice test, runner image, fighter image

·         Practice test solution

Day #11. Tuesday, 3/04/2014. 2D arrays, functions, files, string functions

·         2D arrays, functions, files, string functions

Day #10. Thursday, 2/27/2014: 2-dimensional Arrays

·         2D Arrays

Day #9. Tuesday, 2/25/2014: Files, Functions

·         Functions.

Day #8. Thursday, 2/20/2014: Debugging, Files

·         Debugging

·         More Debugging

·         Files. Notes

Program #2 due Tuesday 2/25/2014 at noon.

·         Space Invaders. Image files. You may work with a partner on this assignment. Hand in a zipped copy of your project in the drop box.

·         Working version

Day #7. Tuesday, 2/18/2014: Lists

·         Free looping sound files. They are relatively small and can be used for background sound.

·         Discussion: shooting invader bullets.

Day #6. Thursday, 2/13/2014: Space Invaders

·         Space Invaders program discussion

·         Part 1 of the Space Invaders program is due Tuesday, 2/18/2014

Day #5. Thursday, 2/06/2014: Sprite Sheets

·         Sprite sheet animation: Notes

·         See the "Lots of Content" files from Day #3 for spritesheets.

Day #4. Tuesday, 2/04/2014: Methods, angular movement, viewports

·         Methods, parameters, rotation, angular movement, viewports

·         Code for setting the viewport

Program #1 due Thu 2/06/2014 at noon.

·         Two-player asteroids. You may work with a partner on this assignment. Hand in a zipped copy of your project in the drop box.

Day #3. Thursday, 1/30/2014: Asteroids

·         Lots of content. Download.

·         Discuss the asteroids game

·         Scaling a sprite

·         Code for a SpriteStruct

Day #2. Tuesday, 1/28/2014: Procedures/Methods, Parameters/Arguments

·         Pong program from last class

·         Pong video

·         Procedures and parameters notes

Day #1. Thursday, 1/23/2014: Review

·         Review. Write 2-player Pong in 75 minutes.

 

Day 24.

Day 25.

Day 26.

Tetris, Part 2, Due Thursday, 5/02/2013

Tetris, PART 1. Due Tuesday, 4/30/2013

Day 27.

Day 28.

What else can you do with XNA? Code samples:

Day 29.

 

Earlier classes are below…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Day 7. Tuesday, 2/12/2013

Program #4. Due Day 16

Day 14. Thursday, 3/07/2013

 

Spring Break March 9-17

Day 18. Thursday, 3/28/2013

 

2013: Determine examples (Student first? Then fraction?)

Day 21. Thursday, 4/11/2013

Day 22. Tuesday, 4/16/2013

Day 23. Tuesday, 4/10/2012

Day 22. Tuesday, 4/17/2012

Day 23. Thursday, 4/19/2012

Program #6, PART 2. Due Day 25.

Day 24. Tuesday, 4/24/2012

Final Test